Astronomy News

Thu Feb 27, 2014 1:36pm

The infrared scope peers through the dust to observe recent discovery in M82

Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22pm

A new method could help to find water on planets all over our Galaxy

Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:26pm

NASA's X-ray telescope observes an extraordinary jet from a runaway pulsar

Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:17pm

After being pronounced dead, the Jade Rabbit rover might now be saved

Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:09pm

The space scope will survey one billion stars in our Galaxy

Wed Feb 05, 2014 4:08pm

Exoplanet Kepler-413b is very unstable on its spin axis

Mon Jan 27, 2014 6:34pm

The area has been awarded Gold-tier status by the IDA

Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:13pm

After more than two years in hibernation the spacecraft will complete its mission

Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:03pm

John Dobson, creator of the Dobsonian telescope, passed away on 15 January 2014

Mon Jan 13, 2014 4:43pm

Our guide to viewing one of nature's most spectacular events

Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:26pm

Repurposed infrared space telescope discovers dark space rock

 

Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:10pm

Astronauts will have to perform three spacewalks to fix a broken cooling system

Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:09pm

This was the first controlled Moon landing since the Soviet Luna 24 mission in 1976

Thu Dec 12, 2013 11:34am

Space scientist to join the presenting team on BBC Four in February

Tue Dec 10, 2013 6:28pm

Reveal the wonders of the night sky in unexpected locations

Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:21pm

A vast area of Northumberland and Scotland's Isle of Coll awarded dark sky status

Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:34pm

The agency plan to send a self-contained garden to the lunar surface

Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:57pm

Will the comet survive its close shave with the Sun?

Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:23pm

A report from the 12 November lecture event in Bristol

Thu Nov 07, 2013 5:55pm

The group are the first to produce a successful prototype mirror segment for ESO

News
NASA's Mars Exploration Rover Opportunity caught an image of a celestial visitor -- comet C...
NASA's Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter, which has sent home more data about Mars than all other...
NASA's newest orbiter at Mars, MAVEN, took precautions to avoid harm from a dust-spewing...