Astronomy News

Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:47am

The Low-Density Supersonic Decelerator will aid future landings on Mars

Wed Aug 06, 2014 9:16am

ESA’s comet chaser finally meets its target

Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:31pm

A week before the shower’s peak NASA cameras record dozens of fireballs

Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:40am

The fifth and final ATV blasted off on 29 July FROM Kourou, French Guiana

Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:57am

The rover is close to completing the first marathon on another world

Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:40am

Two smartphones will help the robots navigate the International Space Station

 

Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:39am

The agency is to discuss manned spaceflight 45 years after first Moon landing

Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:53pm

NASA’s Mars Odyssey orbiter provided data for the Martian map

 

Thu Jul 10, 2014 4:25pm

The string of stars binds the two galactic giants together

Wed Jul 09, 2014 11:34am

Fascinating new model can be 3D printed at home

Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:14pm

Preparations begin 10 years after the probe entered Saturn’s orbit

Wed Jun 25, 2014 4:40pm

The team have polished a 1.5m optic for the E-ELT down to just 7.5nm

Tue Jun 24, 2014 2:34pm

Despite a few teething problems the Gaia satellite is holding up well

Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:01pm

The spacecraft will pass closer to the planet’s hostile surface than ever before.

Mon Jun 16, 2014 8:59am

Building work on ESO's E-ELT, the world’s largest telescope, begins this week

Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:46pm

The observatory's new exoplanet imager shows promise

Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:07pm

We caught up on all the latest stargazing news at the Cheltenham Science Festival 

Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:23pm

A dissapointing solar maximum may just be a brief slump in the Sun’s normal cycle

Wed May 28, 2014 4:33pm

Items from late NASA astronaut Jack Swigert to be auctioned

Tue May 20, 2014 9:37am

Dudley Fuller was chairman of one of UK's oldest surviving telescope suppliers 

News
Astronomers mine data from the Planck and Herschel missions to find a treasure chest of...
NASA has announced the release of Vesta Trek, a free, web-based application that provides...
NASA's Curiosity rover is using a new experiment to better understand the history of the...
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here