View cloud cover over the UK in the latest satellite image from the Met Office

Astronomy News

Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:30pm

As the MoD finally closes the book on its 'X-files', we investigate faux UFOs.

Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:10pm

Astronomers are puzzled when cosmic giant is observed expelling dust

Wed Jun 12, 2013 2:48pm

Dave Jewitt and Jane Luu discuss this far-flung corner of our Solar System.

Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:44pm

Across the country, a number of special events will commemorate the anniversary.

Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:20pm

The latest exoplanet research from three top scientists in the field

Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:53pm

The National Maritime Museum’s latest exhibition, Visions of the Universe, opens on Friday, showcasing around a hundred of the most spectacular images of the cosmos. 

Fri May 24, 2013 3:36pm

New Hubble images give scientists the means to recreate the Ring Nebula

Tue May 21, 2013 4:48pm

Astrophotography Masterclass

Wed May 08, 2013 3:04pm

The remote lab will now operate in complete darkness until August

Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:28am

The largest infrared space telescope ever launched runs out of vital coolant

Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:00pm

This year's survey has unearthed some surprising results

PanSTARRS seen by STEREO spacecraft
Thu Apr 04, 2013 1:24pm

UK-made cameras on NASA's STEREO spacecraft capture the spectacle

Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:41am

Researchers in New Zealand are championing a new planet hunting technique

Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:18pm

There are just under three month's left to get you entries in to this year's competition

NASA breaks the ice over Lake Whillans
Fri Mar 01, 2013 5:28pm

The space agency deploys a sub 800 metres below a vast Antarctic glacier

Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:21pm

The observatory's largest facility is named after the great astronomer

Tue Feb 12, 2013 4:55pm

The BBC’s veteran space reporter, who covered the Apollo programme, dies.

Help preserve the UK's dark skies
Tue Feb 05, 2013 3:51pm

Help count the cost of light pollution

Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:25pm

The latest news from the International Astronomy Show

Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:37pm

The latest news from the International Astronomy Show

News
This image, captured by the Wide Field Imager at ESO’s La Silla Observatory in Chile, shows two...
NASA's Soil Moisture Active Passive mission, launching this winter, will provide global...
New Rosetta image shows the diversity of surface structures on the nucleus of comet 67P/...