Astronomy News

Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:24pm

Tragedy struck the Apollo programme early on – but vital lessons were learned

Mon Jan 16, 2012 6:23pm

New data made available to Planethunters volunteers

Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:32pm

New find suggests Earth-like planets may be commonplace in the Galaxy

Mon Jan 09, 2012 6:41pm

New survey reveals more about the distribution of the mysterious substance

Wed Jan 04, 2012 1:25pm

Moon-mapping satellites nearly ready to go to work

Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:56am

NASA has a Xmas treat for us all

Thu Dec 22, 2011 12:18pm

Believed to be remnants of gas giants consumed by red giant star earlier

Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:42am

But search for a true ‘Earth twin’ continues

Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:56pm

'Sungrazer' comet to meet a fiery, Icarus-like death tonight

Tue Dec 13, 2011 5:22pm

New images of Saturn's moon captured by Cassini spacecraft

Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:04pm

Astronomers will watch the feast in real time

Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:27pm

Scientists collaborate on new rovers that will make navigation decisions for themselves

Thu Dec 08, 2011 1:06pm

Opportunity finds seam of water-deposited calcium sulphate

Tue Dec 06, 2011 12:31pm

VLT telescopes offer clearer picture of transfer of matter from one star in a double system to another

Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:17am

Very Large Telescope finds a star that's spinning round at over 2 million kilometres per hour

Mon Dec 05, 2011 6:37pm

New planet is the first identified by Kepler in its star's 'Goldilocks' zone

Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:01pm

New video created using images from NASA's Dawn spacecraft

Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:14pm

Two teams of scientists develop two different theories to explain 2010's remarkable cosmic event

Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:31am

The famous amateur astronomer and discoverer of comets makes 50 years' worth of observing notes available to the public

Fri Nov 25, 2011 12:54pm

Find details of Curiosity's launch scheduled for Saturday 26 November

News
Take a virtual trip to the imagined surfaces of planets beyond our solar system with NASA's...
A new NASA-led study shows the events are likely to intensify, but become slightly less...
The spacecraft has completed its first trajectory correction maneuver.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here