Astronomy News

Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:30pm

As the MoD finally closes the book on its 'X-files', we investigate faux UFOs.

Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:10am

Astronomers are puzzled when cosmic giant is observed expelling dust

Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:48pm

Dave Jewitt and Jane Luu discuss this far-flung corner of our Solar System.

Mon Jun 10, 2013 1:44pm

Across the country, a number of special events will commemorate the anniversary.

Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:20am

The latest exoplanet research from three top scientists in the field

Wed Jun 05, 2013 3:53pm

The National Maritime Museum’s latest exhibition, Visions of the Universe, opens on Friday, showcasing around a hundred of the most spectacular images of the cosmos. 

Fri May 24, 2013 2:36pm

New Hubble images give scientists the means to recreate the Ring Nebula

Tue May 21, 2013 3:48pm

Astrophotography Masterclass

Wed May 08, 2013 2:04pm

The remote lab will now operate in complete darkness until August

Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:28am

The largest infrared space telescope ever launched runs out of vital coolant

Mon Apr 08, 2013 12:00pm

This year's survey has unearthed some surprising results

PanSTARRS seen by STEREO spacecraft
Thu Apr 04, 2013 12:24pm

UK-made cameras on NASA's STEREO spacecraft capture the spectacle

Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:41am

Researchers in New Zealand are championing a new planet hunting technique

Wed Mar 06, 2013 3:18pm

There are just under three month's left to get you entries in to this year's competition

NASA breaks the ice over Lake Whillans
Fri Mar 01, 2013 4:28pm

The space agency deploys a sub 800 metres below a vast Antarctic glacier

Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:21pm

The observatory's largest facility is named after the great astronomer

Tue Feb 12, 2013 3:55pm

The BBC’s veteran space reporter, who covered the Apollo programme, dies.

Help preserve the UK's dark skies
Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:51pm

Help count the cost of light pollution

Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:25am

The latest news from the International Astronomy Show

Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:37pm

The latest news from the International Astronomy Show

News
For the first time, researchers using ALMA have detected a streamer of gas flowing from a massive...
Today Professor Lena Kolarska-Bobińska, the Polish Minister of Science and Higher Education, signed...
NASA is developing a new instrument that can detect heat and water stress in plants.