Astronomy News

Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:56am

Researchers studying asteroid Lutetia have found that it could be a fragment of the same material that originally formed Earth.

Mon Nov 07, 2011 12:06pm

No need to panic, though – the risk of impact is zero

Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:47pm

The ESA's simulated Mars mission is now complete – with the six-man crew experiencing no major difficulties in coping with the prolonged isolation

Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:23pm

Reader Survey

Mon Oct 03, 2011 1:03pm

Renowned astrophotographer David Malin will be giving talks in the UK this month as an exhibition of his pioneering space photography opens in Bristol

Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:27pm

If you’ve got an idea that you’d love to see turned into real-life experiments, now’s the time to apply to So You Want To Be A Scientist?

Fri Sep 09, 2011 2:25pm

Here are the winners

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:28am

One hundred and sixty-four years have passed since Neptune was first observed in 1846 and on 12 July, it will have completed just one single orbit of the Sun since it was discovered.

Fri Jul 08, 2011 4:15pm

Friday 8 July marked the end of an epoch in spaceflight, as the last ever Space Shuttle mission launched from Kennedy Space Center.

Fri May 27, 2011 10:37am

NASA has announced it will launch a sample-return mission to an asteroid in 2016

Wed May 25, 2011 6:01pm

NASA has announced the termination of all communications with the Mars Exploration Rover, Spirit, after 10 months of futile effort to regain contact.

Tue May 24, 2011 5:48pm

After a five month-long stay in the International Space Station, astronauts Dmitry Kondratyev, Cady Coleman and Paolo Nespoli are feeling gravity once again

Mon May 23, 2011 5:44pm

Astronomers from the UK discover the black holes are spinning faster now than ever before in the history of the Universe

Mon May 09, 2011 4:50pm

Raging torrents of molecular gas, detected coming from galaxies for the first time by ESA's Herschel space observatory, could be the culprit behind galaxies that have lost the ability to form new stars.

Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:39pm

With Destination Titan airing this Sunday on BBC Four, Sky at Night Magazine spoke to Prof John Zarnecki about his mission to explore Saturn's enigmatic moon.

Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:18pm

Jodrell Bank, the centre for UK radio astronomy, will be opening a brand new visitors’ centre on 11 April.

Tue Apr 05, 2011 5:50pm

Luminaries such as Buzz Aldrin, Brian May and Richard Dawkins will gather on Tenerife this summer for the Starmus festival from 20-25 June.

Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:01pm

For more than 50 years, it has blasted off to space from the deserts of central Asia or the frozen forests of northern Russia, but the Soyuz launcher is soon to be launching from the tropical south America.

Thu Mar 31, 2011 3:09pm

After returning to Earth for the final time in March, Space Shuttle Discovery is being given a thorough examination and prepared for its last journey to a museum in the US

Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:48pm

NASA’s Messenger spacecraft has provided the first ever image of Mercury from an orbiting spacecraft, capturing previously unrecorded territory near the planet's south pole.

News
NASA has identified three processes responsible for wobbles in Earth's axis of rotation:...
In a new NASA-led study, scientists used GPS data to track where Hurricane Harvey's...
NASA's ECOSTRESS provides most detailed heatwave map of Los Angeles currently available...
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here