View cloud cover over the UK in the latest satellite image from the Met Office

Astronomy News

Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:40pm

Two smartphones will help the robots navigate the International Space Station

 

Fri Jul 18, 2014 12:39pm

The agency is to discuss manned spaceflight 45 years after first Moon landing

Wed Jul 16, 2014 1:53pm

NASA’s Mars Odyssey orbiter provided data for the Martian map

 

Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:25pm

The string of stars binds the two galactic giants together

Wed Jul 09, 2014 12:34pm

Fascinating new model can be 3D printed at home

Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:14pm

Preparations begin 10 years after the probe entered Saturn’s orbit

Wed Jun 25, 2014 5:40pm

The team have polished a 1.5m optic for the E-ELT down to just 7.5nm

Tue Jun 24, 2014 3:34pm

Despite a few teething problems the Gaia satellite is holding up well

Mon Jun 16, 2014 4:01pm

The spacecraft will pass closer to the planet’s hostile surface than ever before.

Mon Jun 16, 2014 9:59am

Building work on ESO's E-ELT, the world’s largest telescope, begins this week

Tue Jun 10, 2014 2:46pm

The observatory's new exoplanet imager shows promise

Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:07pm

We caught up on all the latest stargazing news at the Cheltenham Science Festival 

Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:23pm

A dissapointing solar maximum may just be a brief slump in the Sun’s normal cycle

Wed May 28, 2014 5:33pm

Items from late NASA astronaut Jack Swigert to be auctioned

Tue May 20, 2014 10:37am

Dudley Fuller was chairman of one of UK's oldest surviving telescope suppliers 

Mon May 19, 2014 5:10pm

Hubble images of Saturn’s aurora show striking similarities to the Earth’s

Fri May 16, 2014 11:09am

Chris Lintott, Maggie Aderin-Pocock and Pete Lawrence will be at this year's Cheltenham Science Festival

Fri May 09, 2014 4:08pm

Find could help narrow the search for extraterrestial life

Thu May 08, 2014 12:51pm

British scientist behind Beagle 2 project dies aged 70

Tue Apr 29, 2014 12:25pm

Liquid water could have flowed on the Red Planet just 200,000 years ago

News
In this striking new image from ESO’s La Silla Observatory in Chile young stars huddle together...
Astronomers using the NASA/ESA Hubble Space Telescope have probed the extreme outskirts of the...
Scientists will use a virtual time machine to trace carbon dioxide observations from NASA's...