2015 John Lewis Christmas advert scope

A place to hang out and chat about astronomy

2015 John Lewis Christmas advert scope

Postby Bertiebones » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:28 am

Hi all,

Newbie here :) I realise this may be a bit of a random post/thread, but do any of you know what telescope was the one used in the John Lewis Christmas advert last year?

While I realise that it was no Hubble and therefore in reality couldn't zoom in on the house of the man on the Moon, let alone the man himself ;), the curious side of me is wondering what scope (obviously through the power of moving advertising) sold out so rapidly (from what i remember).

Not a serious thread, but perhaps a festive one :D And on that note, how many of you have had astronomical experience thanks to Christmas? And what equipment was it (telescope, binoculars etc)?

Do forgive if you deem this a little silly, but perhaps the combination of festive spirit and the fact I'm starting out in this hobby at Christmas (by buying my other half a scope ;) ) has me wondering!

Many thanks in advance for any input. And a Merry Christmas to you all!

Jake.
Bertiebones

Re: 2015 John Lewis Christmas advert scope

Postby Aratus » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:07 pm

I hadn't seen this advert before but it is on youtube. A refractor with an altazimuth mount on a good tripod. It had a 'red dot' finder. The focus wheels have a distinctive rubber grip. Occasionally you can see an orange coloured 'something' holding the telescope to the tripod.
The best fit would be a Celestron Astromaster 70AZ. The only thing that is not right is that the star diagonal has been removed so the little girl is looking straight through the axis of the telescope. A bit of artistic licence, unless there is a version without the star diagonal!

You are correct in thinking that seeing a house on the moon is a little beyond the capabilities of that telescope! It is a good starter telescope though.