Switch to full style
Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries
Post a reply

Advice needed

Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:26 pm

My daughter (aged 8) has requested a telescope for Christmas. She is interested in looking at planets and stars (obviously.) I have been to a local supplier who has advised the Skywatcher Startravel 102 SynScan AZ GOTO Telescope. Is this the best piece of kit for an absolute beginner? Obviously at age 8 they want to see things pretty clear and pretty close. Can anyone offer any advice? This is stargazing for dummies (us, not her)

Re: Advice needed

Thu Nov 22, 2018 4:57 pm

A lot of your money is going on the computerised mount rather than the actual telescope. Having said that, there is nothing wrong in with a 4" refractor. This telescope is designed for more wide-field views than large magnification, but that is fine for objects like star clusters. Getting more magnification out of it is going to be difficult but not impossible. The included barlow lens is a x2. So using that with the eyepieces will give twice the magnification. namely 50x and 100x You could do better than that by buying a separate 3x barlow, giving 75x and 150x. That will give interesting views of the moon and the brighter planets. Planets are rather small looking objects though, and the detail will be limited. In normal circumstances you won't get a better magnification than that with this telescope.

If I was 8 years old again - I would be in heaven with this telescope :D I would have needed a lot of help with getting it set up though. Your daughter will need a lot of support to align and use a computerised mount.

Thu Nov 22, 2018 5:14 pm