An Indian beginner from Sweden

Come and say hello to your fellow Sky at Night Magazine fan

An Indian beginner from Sweden

Postby zixon » Sat Feb 25, 2006 3:50 am

Dear Friends,

[b]My name is Dipak Sundaram[/b]. I am pursuing my [i]Masters degree[/i] in IT at [i]KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden[/i]. Im of [b]Indian[/b] origin.

Participating in these forums is my first step into the Astronomy community. I am recently thinking of astronomy as a serious hobby and would like to start observations. I have bought a few books (not yet a telescope) and gone through many web-sites and forums.

I would be grateful for any advice you could render for my queries in the various forums of this website. I apologize if some of these questions have already been dealt with. I would also do my best to participate and be a valuble member to this community though being a newbie myself right now.

I would welcome any suggestions for me to get started.

Thank you.
zixon

RE: Welcome zixon

Postby cookie » Sat Feb 25, 2006 1:16 pm

Nice to hear from someone outside the UK too. I've only joined recently too, Unable to offer any advise at this moment, but keep on watching, advise might be on its way.

Cookie M[;)]
cookie

Postby Chanctonbury » Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:56 pm

Welcome Dipak, it is interesting to see that this forum is attracting interest from outside the UK.

I look forward to your questions and contributions and good luck with your degree.
Chanctonbury

Postby phill » Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:36 pm

Hi Dipak and welcome,

I am a beginner in this hobby so the only advice I can offer -for what it is worth - is don't rush to buy a telescope. If you have binoculars use them, it's surprising what you can see. At the same time you can seek advice from the very experienced members of this forum who will be more than happy to help.

Good luck with your studies.

phill
phill

Postby jsc248 » Sun Feb 26, 2006 6:43 pm

Hi Dipak,