Any help greatly received

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Any help greatly received

Postby Starbug121 » Tue May 17, 2016 5:40 pm

I am new to astrophotography and need some guidance. I have a celestron nexstar 130SLT along with a cannon EOS 1200D camera. Any tips on getting the best images for planets, nebula and the moon. I just got a remote shutter button to stop the shakes. I am looking for exposure times and the like. Please bear in mind I am a newbie so be gentle with me. I have got some good moon pics so far but now want to reach out further. Thank you in advance for any advice you can put my way.

Troy (starbug121)
Starbug121

Re: Any help greatly received

Postby Gfamily2 » Tue May 17, 2016 7:49 pm

Hi and welcome.

The bad news is that because the SLT has an Alt Az mount rather than an equatorial mount, you're going to be somewhat limited in what you can image with your scope (explanation follows*).

Diffuse faint nebulae will probably be a challenge (or rather, something you save for your next mount), but the good news is that you should be good for imaging things like the brighter open and globular clusters, the Orion nebula and things like that.

For your lunar imaging, how are you using the dSLR? Are you mounting the camera using a t-adapter onto the focuser directly, or are you just photographing down the eyepiece? A little knowledge of what you're currently doing will probably help us help you.