Beginner Telescope Advice Please!

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Beginner Telescope Advice Please!

Postby margoqml » Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:09 pm

Hello,

Yes, yet another beginner thinking of getting a shiny new scope! I've been trying to get my head around the variety of all the telescopes and before I commit to anything, your advice would be much appreciated!

As mentioned, I am a complete beginner, however, I am also rather determined to learn and have been thinking about getting one for some time now! I've got my 'Turn Left at Orion' and I am eager to go! I would like a telescope for observing night sky objects, an equipment that is not totally entry level, but something that I can carry on using for years to come before deciding whether or not to upgrade. Saying that, I have a budget of around £200, though I am sure I can stretch it if a particularly good value scope is recommended.
I would like to learn things myself, so I do NOT want a Go-To. I am thinking of minimum 5inch aperture and would prefer a refractor, although if reflector can deliver, then it will do too, as I know how much these can differ in price. The main reason I would go for a refractor is the cooling time, as I am not the most patient/organised person, but I don't actually know the order of magnitutde difference between the times, so perhaps I am worrying for nothing? I would also prefer a finderscope rather than a red dot, although if it is relatively easy to get it as a separate piece, then that's fine. It does not have to be ultra-light, as I am planning to use it either in a back garden or take it in a car, but then again - I would like someting I can actually carry and that will fit into my tiny car. It would have to stand on its own on a ground, as I don't have an outdoor table - a tripod mount would be ideal.