Switch to mobile style

Building your own telescopes

Share practical advice and tips on making your own kit

Building your own telescopes

Postby thegoatboy » Sun Jan 16, 2011 10:20 pm

Hi there,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to astronomy, as i have only just purchased my first set of binoculars.

But, my next step up i am very interested in having a go at building my own telescope.

I have purchased an old copy of "Build your own telescopes" by a fella called Richard Berry.

I thought it would be a nice and simple task, but I have fallen short at the first hurdle. mirrors.

Can anyone recommend a good (and cheap place) where i can source mirror parts?

I am trying to keep the budget down as much as i can.

The first scope on the list is 4" f/10 reflector.

i have read a few posts regarding grinding your own, but i'm not sure about this.

What would people recommend?

will it be an easy task, or is it a better option to try and save up and buy a scope instead?

any input will be appreciated!!

TGB

thegoatboy

RE: Building your own telescopes

Postby parus ater » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:43 pm

The only place I know of you can get easily is Orion... http://www.orionoptics.co.uk/OPTICS/opticsinformatio.html (hover the 'Optics tab and the drop down has the different types and sizes).

I can't see it being easy unless you know what you're doing, tbh. I'd say buy and come back to making.
parus ater

Postby wayner » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:43 pm

Completely agree with Parus: I'm a complete newbie and I've set myself the task of getting my head around the layout of the sky over the next 12 months. Would suggest spending time observing and making some Astro society meetings to try out different scopes. Best of luck whatever you do [:)]!
wayner

Postby thegoatboy » Mon Jan 17, 2011 12:00 am

Thank you both for your inputs.

I did see the orion webpage, and i did notice the prices!!