Curious as to what I saw tonight

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Curious as to what I saw tonight

Postby graeme » Tue Aug 23, 2016 10:44 pm

I’ve got a 6” reflector with equatorial mount. I live near Cambridge UK. Tonight at about 22:30 I was looking at what I think was Arcturus (I’m new to this!) and as I adjusted it into the centre of the eyepiece using the eq mount knobs I noticed a dot of light like a star moving in the opposite direction to the way I turned the knobs and far faster than the stars were moving.

My first thought was that it was some kind of aberration, but it was quite clearly there - leaving the telescope stationary the dot of light appeared to be moving and eventually it would move out of the field of view, but I could bring it back into view. Likewise I could take it out of the field of view and it didn’t appear anywhere else where I pointed the scope. I also thought that its movement might be an optical illusion and that it was stationary and the stars were moving due to earth's rotation.

Assuming it’s not a speck of dirt or my imagination can anyone suggest what it was? I was wondering geostationary satellite - but reflecting the sun from that far out and visible in a small scope? Sounds a bit of a stretch.
graeme

Re: Curious as to what I saw tonight

Postby Aratus » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:52 pm

Actually a 6" reflector can just about see a geostationary satellite. In a telescope aligned to the stars a geostationary satellite will slowly move out of the field of view. They will be very faint though.

Quite often the light from a fairly distant satellite or piece of rocket will slowly drift across the view through a telescope. It needn't be as far out as a geostationary satellite but it would be further out than something in low earth orbit.