Dark sky camera shots

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Dark sky camera shots

Postby gozzer101 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:16 pm

Ill start off by saying I'm a real novice when it comes to astronomy.

However I have a huge interest in it and the universe as a whole. I enjoy watching programs on the solar system and universe and have purchased a few dvd's, plus I have the subscription to the BBC focus and the BBC sky at night magazines, this has given me a basic understanding on whats up there.

Im coming on here to ask for some advice on purchasing a camera. I've seen photos of the night sky, without the aid of a telescope, in huge detail, where you can clearly see the milky way. I know you have to increase the length of the exposure/increase length shutter is open for, but I was wondering how easy is this?

I'm going camping with a few mates in Snowdonia in relatively dark area of the UK, and although we wont be taking a telescope we would love to take some great photos.

Any advice on how easy, how much it will cost etc will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
gozzer101

RE: Dark sky camera shots

Postby darkside » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:20 pm

hi gozzer, whats your budget? best camera for astro imaging is a dslr. most people use canon for imaging, the canon 1000d is a good camera for its money about £300 you would also need a tripod as well and a remote. as for settings it would depend on the lens you use, if you get a camera with a kit lens it would probley be 18-55mm set it to 18mm (wide) use the cameras manual mode and expose for about 30secs any more and you will probley get star trails. set the iso to 1600, the aperture as wide as it will go say f/4. you should get some good results in snowdonia with the dark skys out there. if you want to get into longer exposures which will cost more money[:@] you will need a tracking mount have a look on this site to give you an idea www.astrotrac.com regards ady[;)]
darkside