Dew Heaters

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Dew Heaters

Postby Smokey_PT2 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:23 pm

Hi All,

I have an Astromaster 130EQ, and due to the short tube, and my location I get dew on the primary, after making a dew shield, it still forms dew :( After looking at dew heaters and deciding they are really expensive for what they are....

I bought 3 clothing heat pads from Amazon, which get rather toasty (There is a temp control on them and they draw power from a USB battery bank) unfortunately being a new user, its not allowing me to post a link :(

In the hope of making a poor mans dew heater and gaffa'ing them on the tube, so was wondering if they would help with the dew shield, and if anyone else has tried this? After looking at why dew forms, surely these should help keep the temperature high enough to stop dew from forming....?

Anyone else tried this? All comments appreciated :)

Thanks,
Smokey
Smokey_PT2

Re: Dew Heaters

Postby Graeme1858 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:23 pm

Hello Smokey

Welcome to the forum.

Were they something like these?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Heating-Clothi ... r+clothing

I would certainly be interested to know how you get on with this.

Regards

Graeme

Postby Aratus » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:32 pm

The biggest saving can be acheived by using one of these to control the current.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-Motor-1-8V-3V-5V-6V-12V-PWM-Speed-Controller-2A-Potentiometer-Knob-Switch/263834005660?hash=item3d6dbb709c:g:bQMAAOSwtbBbZ62L:rk:4:pf:0
However, my advice would be to buy a proper dew strip. They are hard to make yourself satisfactorily.
https://www.firstlightoptics.com/dew-prevention/astrozap-dew-heater-tapes.html

I think what you have suggested might give too much heat, and not in the right place. They would keep you warm on a cold winter's evening - out observing!