First scope please help

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

First scope please help

Postby Bertiebones » Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:33 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm completely new to this, however it isn't actually me that the telescope will belong to (Christmas present). I will however get to use it since it is a present for my partner. Anyhow, I've ordered the scope and am excitedly awaiting its arrival in the next few days. My question is though, what would you recommend in terms of a "starter kit" for lenses, filters, etc? (Both of us will only now be starting out in this hobby) I'd like it essentially to not be just the scope but also a few useful extra bits to increase its potential.

The scope is Celestron Evolution 8, and the extra bits I was thinking of getting are along the lines of the Celestron eyepiece and filter kit, but that is really just going by what I am guessing would be useful. Perhaps there is something better to get instead of a ready made filter/eyepiece kit?

Many thanks for your time and advice :)
Jake.
Bertiebones

Re: First scope please help

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:19 am

Hi, and welcome to the Forum.
Personally, I would advise against getting the EP and filter kit; most of them won't actually be ones you'd use in the long term, so I'd say wait until you get an idea of what you want to try next.

A really good piece of advice I read once was to get to the very best with what you have before you buy anything new.

So, what would I suggest you spend your money on...
+ A planisphere is well worth getting - it'll give you an idea of the constellations and bright stars that will be visible at any date and time, and (in particular) how the constellations relate to each other.
+ A red light head torch will preserve your dark adapted vision while you're working around your scope - using a 'white' torch will affect how well you can see things at night; a red light has much less effect.