First Scope

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

First Scope

Postby CJ2002K » Fri Jan 01, 2016 11:56 pm

Hi everyone,

This type of question has probably been banded about a lot over the years, but I wouldn't mind a up to date view.

I'm looking at getting my first scope, with £4-500 to spend. I'm doing a degree in astronomy so initially I will use it for a broad range of things, but as I gain experience my main focus will be planetary photography (I'm thinking of getting a ccd device in he future).

You can see where I'm going with this, I'm looking for advice on what to get... Initially I looked at the Sky Watcher 150p reflector, then looked in to 200p. Ive also looked at the startravel 150 refractor a and its bigger brother.

I know my budget will limit the mount I get and I think the EQ5 is at the top end of my limit, but it's the scope that's causing me issues. As I said long term aim is planetary photography, if I can get something that is slightly portable (I'm used to carrying 50kg on my back) that would be a bonus, but being able to see planets just now, and potential for photographing a year down the line is really the motivating factor. I know that I will get better results with a bigger budget, but that's my limit and I can accept what ever the budget produces.

Thanks for any help offered...

Craig
CJ2002K

Re: First Scope

Postby dave.b » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:00 am

The Celestron Nexstar 4 SE would be worth a look. It's a 4" f/13 Mak which gives it a nice narrow field of view which is just what you want for planetary observing. The mount is a computerised alt-az, which means that after setting it up it will track the chosen object. Being an alt-az you will get field rotation, but since planetary camera work makes use of fast frame rate USB video cameras with post processing to combine all the frames into a single image, the image can be de-rotated before being combined.