Hello all

Come and say hello to your fellow Sky at Night Magazine fan

Hello all

Postby Chewie2309 » Wed May 16, 2018 10:11 pm

Hi my name is John and I’m trying to get into astronomy I have got a scope a celestron nexstar 4se but it seems the more I read the more complicated it gets ,I’ve been out a couple of times but as of yet not seen anything I wish I knew someone who lived close by because at the moment I’m lost .I won’t give up because it’s something I’ve wanted to do for years but never had the time I live in wigan Lancashire ,my garden is small but pretty dark anyway I’ll keep you posted on how I get on and thanks for reading .
Chewie2309

Re: Hello all

Postby Zippy » Fri May 18, 2018 10:47 pm

Hi John,
Welcome to the forum. Sometimes things can be a bit slow and you may have to wait a little while to get a response, but there are some guys here with huge experience that can point you in right direction.
I am also a newbie and have learned more in one month than I did in the previous 50 years. There is an immense amount of information available. I went to the public library and went through their Astronomy section. Chose 2 books, one being Constellations by Giles Sparrow and the other is Wonders Of The Solar System by Brian Cox. I also purchased 2018 Stargazing Guide from The Works for £3 as it tells you what is the best thing to concentrate on each month.
Zippy

Postby Zippy » Fri May 18, 2018 11:10 pm

The moon has to be a good place to practice on for a week or so during the month, but right now you should checkout Jupiter while it is still so close to us. Just look due south in the late evening and it will be the brightest thing in the southern sky, sitting a little above the horizon. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that a standard pair of 10x50 binoculars can not only show Jupiter, but it's 4 Galilean Moons orbiting it too.