Switch to mobile style

Hello All

Come and say hello to your fellow Sky at Night Magazine fan

Hello All

Postby Graeme1858 » Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:34 pm

Hello all.

I've just signed up here to see what's happening!

It's my birthday soon and I'm getting a Celestron Nexstar Evolution 9.25!!! I've had a 10" dob for a number of years and a 3" EQ before that. So I'm planning on doing some imaging in the future. I have quite a bit of experience overall but I'm a complete newbie to the world of astro imaging. As a Sky at Night Magazine subscriber of a number of years I am a fan of the binocular tour and the deep sky tour and look forward to finding out what an ASCOM file is!

Regards

Graeme
Graeme1858

Re: Hello All

Postby Aratus » Fri Jul 27, 2018 11:32 pm

Looks like you are going to have a lot of fun with your new telescope. Let us know how you get on.

Once you have installed ASCOM drivers a whole load of astronomical imaging systems will work with it, and you can then safely forget all about it, and let it do all the work. :)

Welcome!
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus

Postby Graeme1858 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 8:36 am

Thanks Aratus

I'm currently reading up on imaging. When I get the new scope I'll get used to viewing with it first!

Shame about the clouds last night, I missed the long anticipated eclipse!

Regards

Graeme
Graeme1858

Postby Aratus » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:28 am

Yes! I've had continuous clear skies at sunset over the last few weeks, and on the 27th it decided not only to cloud over, but give me 5 hours of thunderstorms. At about midnight the skies cleared!

It has to be said that imaging requires a lot of extra setting up, and it is a lot easier just to put the eye to the eyepiece!
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus