Hello From Barnsley

Come and say hello to your fellow Sky at Night Magazine fan

Hello From Barnsley

Postby ThePeltonian » Thu Jan 21, 2016 12:33 pm

Hello everyone!

We have just taken the plunge and ordered our first telescope, its a Skywatcher Skymax 127 supatrak, alt azimuth stand...

I'm excited to see if I can see a good image of Saturn, I have heard that we are able to see it quite well this week along with Jupiter - well most planets for the next 10 days.

Anyone got any tips for a complete noob to get the most out of the next few days (weather permitting)?

Stu
ThePeltonian

Re: Hello From Barnsley

Postby Aratus » Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:12 pm

Hello Stu

Jupiter rises at about 10 past 9 in the evening and is nice and high before midnight.
Saturn and Mars don't rise until a few hours before dawn; Venus only an hour before the sun.
Saturn and Mars will be fine evening objects by June, so you may need to wait for those unless you are an early bird!

The Sky at Night magazine will tell you each month what is visible, and has appropriate star charts. Pick a constellation from the chart, and go out and find it. Learn your way around the sky. There are plenty of bright objects in the sky at the moment. The Orion Nebula and the Pleiades are always worth a look. The Andromeda galaxy is still around. As the year goes by they will be setting, but new objects are always appearing in the east. The moon is always a good target. Keep a record of all the things you see in a log and you will be able to relive the moments. Post a copy of your observations on this forum. Keep asking questions!

Clear Skies!
Last edited by Aratus on Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus

Postby Gfamily2 » Thu Jan 21, 2016 2:17 pm