Help choosing eyepieces?

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Help choosing eyepieces?

Postby ClearSkies10 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 12:05 am

Hello everyone.
Last Christmas I got myself a Sky-Watcher Skyliner 250P Dobsonian telescope. Although I haven't gotten a lot of use out of it this year because of cloudy skies and no spare time. The telescope came with Super-MA 10mm and 25mm eyepieces, but I've been meaning to get a few more better ones. The 25 is decent enough, but I feel that the 10 isn't good enough. I was also considering getting 7-9mm and 14-17mm eyepieces. But there are so many and I'm very new to all this.

Basically I'd like some afforable (preferably under £100 altogether if that's possible) eyepieces that are good quality, and that I won't really NEED to replace. Good quality, but not absolute top-of-the-range, if you know what I mean. Not THAT good, I mean, this is only a hobby.

I'd very much like good, as crisp and clear as possible eyepieces suitable for viewing planets, nebulae, star clusters, asteroids, comets, etc.

I'd really appreciate some advice or recommendations from you guys. I'm pretty stuck and need advice from people who know about this kind of stuff. Thank you in advance!
ClearSkies10

Re: Help choosing eyepieces?

Postby Gfamily2 » Tue Nov 08, 2016 10:07 am

A quick and affordable starter option is to get a 2x Barlow, which will give you an effective 12.5mm when used with your 25mm.

You might also want then to consider an 18mm eyepiece that fills another gap, and which gives you 9mm when used with the Barlow. With cheaper eyepieces, it's often the case that a longer EP used with a Barlow gives better results than the equivalent shorter focus EP.

An alternative though would be to go for a longer eyepiece, something like a 32 or 40mm, as the wider field of view can be very effective for clusters and star fields - and also when using star-hopping to home in on your targets.