Help Needed

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Help Needed

Postby SomKat23 » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:51 pm

Hi There,

I am completely new to telescopes and astronomy and in need of advice. My husband has asked for a telescope for Christmas. I know he wants to be able to see the moon and planets with good detail if poss. We also both want to do some astrophotography at some stage. I have been looking at the Celestron Nexstar 90 SLT GOTO, but having read many article online I am now not too sure. :? My budget is about £350 max (if poss). I like the sound of the GOTO and to be honest I am aware that they can be a bit of pain to set up but my husband has a technology brain and is a total geek plus a perfectionist, it wont take him long to figure out. ;)

Any advice on what scope to get is highly appreciated.

Thanks
SomKat23

Re: Help Needed

Postby dave.b » Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:50 pm

Get the 102SLT. Another recent poster reported that they are on special offer at Cosco. Try searching the forum with that model id.

However, this type of scope setup is not suitable for DSLR photography (except for the moon). You can do some webcam imaging with it. Long exposure work requires an equatorial mount and that's a lot more money.

Dave B.
dave.b

Postby Gfamily2 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 2:33 pm

dave.b wrote:Get the 102SLT. Another recent poster reported that they are on special offer at Cosco. Try searching the forum with that model id.

However, this type of scope setup is not suitable for DSLR photography (except for the moon). You can do some webcam imaging with it. Long exposure work requires an equatorial mount and that's a lot more money.

Dave B.

I'd say it's not quite as clear cut as that - the scope and mount should be OK for taking images of star fields and brighter DSOs with it, as exposures of up to 30 seconds can be taken and stacked.