Help to buy first telescope

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Help to buy first telescope

Postby hwatkins » Mon Jun 06, 2016 9:16 am

Hi, total newbie here!

After ages scouring the internet for advice for a first telescope, I'm pretty much down to the Skywatcher 130p-ds or the 150p-ds. I want to be able to take photos (it's OK, I know I won't be competing with Hubble!) My questions are:
1) Will I really notice the difference between the 130 and 150?
2) What does the ds mean - I gather it's helpful for photography but I don't understand what it is?
3) The mount! I'm undecided between an eq3-2 and an eq3-Pro GoTo. If I choose the eq3-2 on price, do I need a motor to drive it so that it tracks a star while I'm photographing it? Otherwise how does the telescope keep my image in view during a long exposure?

Basically I have a budget of a max £500, but I'd like to be able to have enough to buy extras that I find I need. Like a collimation eyepiece (which everyone says you need, but I don't know why!)

Sorry, loads of questions, but thank you in advance for all help!

Helen
hwatkins

Re: Help to buy first telescope

Postby Aratus » Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:56 pm

Hello. I'll do my best to help you, but others here may be of more help

You will always notice a difference with a larger mirror. So yes a 150 will bring in more light than a 130, and if you were to compare them, an object will be noticably brighter.

'DS' probably means 'dual speed', and refers to the focus control. It allow you to focus the telescope in finer steps. It is good thing to have, but it adds a lot to the cost, and not absolutely necessary.

You need a motor for what you want. From what I gather, that means the more expensive mount.

You don't 'need' a collimation eyepiece. A newtonian reflector can be collimated quite easily without one.