Help with Solar Tracking on a Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Help with Solar Tracking on a Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer

Postby cloudwalker_3 » Fri May 06, 2016 3:06 pm

I would have really liked to include links in this post, but unfortunately, when I tried to the website just kept saying that the post looked too 'spammy' for a new user, which is deeply frustrating, but here goes anyhow...

I'm a photographer who has recently invested in a Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer kit. The reason I've brought this is primarily to capture the forthcoming transit of Mercury across the face of the Sun. I've also brought a solar filter for the end of my lens so no burnt out eyeballs! (The solar filter for the Meade-ETX125 - is a good fit for a Nikon 300mm f/2.8 VRII, FYI)

Having seen some of the online set videos (I think...) I'm fairly clear about setting up the equatorial wedge onto my tripod to capture the latitude: You point the adjustment knob twowards the north, then adjust the latidude indicator to your latitude (which for London is 51°30′N).

There are a couple of things that aren't clear to me however (essentially I'm a newbie, and a dycalculic/dyspraxic/dyslexic one at that, so I'm finding the learning curve pretty steep at the moment!)

1. If you're aiming to capture the transit of Mercury, do you still need to polar align? I've brought myself a copy of an app for my iPhone called PolarAlign just in case. How do you do this during the day? Or is it just a matter of adjusting the time graduation circle, the date graduation circle and the standard meridian offset scale to match the information within the app?

2. Assuming that you've now set up the mount, how do do you get it to solar track? I know where the selector is on the mount, but is this essentially just the speed of movement? Is it the polar alignment that makes it follow the correct arc of the sun?