Heq5pro autoguiding i

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:24 pm

Hi guys i have a heq5pro mount which used to auto guide ok but only in ra, but now has stopped working
I.e im using phd ,no response from the manual controls , all works ok other than guiding , do i need a new mother board, any ideas, ive had it to bits etc hoping something might be loose but made no difference.
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby dave.b » Sat Jan 02, 2016 11:37 pm

If it works from its hand controller and it works from your PC, but doesn't work for guiding then the fault must be specific to the guiding set up. So check the connectors and that the connections are sound. It could also be a software glitch for which a factory reset of the mount, or re-flashing it's firmware might fix it.

Dave B.
dave.b
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:35 pm
Location: Staffordshire

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:39 am

[quote="dave.b"]If it works from its hand controller and it works from your PC, but doesn't work for guiding then the fault must be specific to the guiding set up. So check the connectors and that the connections are sound. It could also be a software glitch for which a factory reset of the mount, or re-flashing it's firmware might fix it.

Dave B.[/quote
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:44 am

Thanks dave i have tried all those except the firmware, and tried on both mac and pc versions of phd. I have ordered a new motherboard, its the cheapest option to try first, it could of course be my guiding camera, zwo120mm , also read in another forum yesterday that these motherboards dont have a very long lifespan dont know how true that is but would welcome any feedback, thanks again
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby dave.b » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:58 pm

Please let us all know how you get on when you fit the replacement motherboard.
dave.b
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:35 pm
Location: Staffordshire

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Mon Jan 04, 2016 2:20 pm

Yes i will dave im crossing my fingers
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:25 pm

I tried a new motherboard and it was not that , tested my leads they are fine , reflashed the firmware ln the hand contoller with two versions , and it was not that.so it must be the guide camera , i also chrcked the drivers on that ive been checking with pc and mac versions of phd and both are the same. So i reckon i got to try a new guide cam, pity im not in a astronomy club i could get my one checked.
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby Phil2101 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:35 pm

Ok mission accomplished, it was the guide camera at fault a zwo120mm, i ordered a orion starshoot autoguider which arrived today and it works great in dec as well, so now i got a spare motherboard but thats not a bad thing . Alls well that ends well.
Phil2101
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:17 pm

Re: Heq5pro autoguiding i

Postby dave.b » Sat Jan 09, 2016 10:49 am

As I'm on the cusp of buying a ZWO ASI224MC with a view to using it for guiding it would be useful to know whether your ZWO ASI120MM had broke with old age and lots of work, or if you think it's a poor design. Did you consider getting it repaired?

Dave B.
dave.b
 
Posts: 803
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 6:35 pm
Location: Staffordshire


Return to Ask a silly (astronomy) question

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests