Issue with new Meade 102 StarNavigator

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Issue with new Meade 102 StarNavigator

Postby dsteel0 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:35 am

Morning all,

First off, hello - I'm a new poster, though I've been lurking here for a while.

Secondly - looking for a bit of advice...

I've been using a Sky Watcher EQ 150 for a couple of years now. It's a PITA to set up and use though as far as I'm concerned, and I've been looking to upgrade to something that'll give me the most out of my viewing time. I settled on the Meade 102 StarNavigator - I'm hoping that it will let me get out and have an easy, informative viewing session.

Anyway, it arrived yesterday, and I set it up. Nice piece of kit - everything seems quality, other than the (ironically - you'll see what I mean) prism.

Anyway - once set up, I was playing around and tilted the scope up past 60 deg. At this point, the entire scope slid out of the mounting arm and hit the floor - causing the prism to shatter into pieces (it's only very cheap plastic).

Now - I might be an idiot (steady...), but as far as I can see, all that is/was holding the scope in place in the bracket is a single screw (as part of a c-clamp style fixture on the arm), which screws down on top of a dovetail joint (attached to the scope, which slides inside the c-clamp style fixture).

While the instructions say to "tighten" this, there is no mention of it having to be "very" tight, nor is there anything to stop the scope sliding out (forwards or backwards) from the c-clamp style fixture.

I've gone back to the supplier, but not sure what they'll say. I've ordered another 1.25, 90-deg prism from Amazon in the meantime (£10) but obviously I'm concerned there will be unseen damage.

I'm just baffled as to the fixture here - it seems ridiculous and I don't know if I've missed something...