Narrowed it down...

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Narrowed it down...

Postby bob4026 » Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:22 pm

Well, I think I have.

I'm new to this and want to get a half decent beginners set up, but of course I am limited by budget (who isn't) and it would need to keep me interested for a couple of years after which I could afford to upgrade if necessary.

I want to study the sky, get good images of the planets, and the moon and things further afield. My garden is fairly dark, and I don't think I will be travelling to observe. The scope will stay in my garage, and come out for garden use. At this stage I don't think photography is where i'd like to go with it.

Heres my shortlist...feel free to beat me with an educating stick. ;)

Celestron skyprodigy 130
Celestron nexStar 130slt
Skywatcher skymax 127 synscan AZ goto
Meade DS 2102
Celestron nexStar 102 slt

My current knowledge of the sky only sees me recognising the plough, polaris, Cassiopeia & orion, so i'm thinking goto will help but i'm not averse to learning new skills. I just don't want to get frustrated at not being able to find my way around the sky.

Anyway thanks for bearing with me and offering your help.

ATB

Bob
bob4026

Re: Narrowed it down...

Postby Gfamily2 » Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:41 am

Hi Bob, and welcome.

You've clearly done some research, and each of those telescopes has something to offer.
The first two are basically the same telescope, with the skyprodigy having a far easier alignment. As a beginner, that may well make it attractive, but after a while you will have learned enough to not need it - and the initial extra expense could have been used for accessories down the line.