new scope

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

new scope

Postby gashead » Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:52 am

Hi all, Its been awhile since my last scope so hoping for some advice. I'm about average in knowledge on this great subject, with that in mind can you please advise which scopes I should be looking at. Budget is around £600 more or less. I don't think I want a dob. I prefer looking at planets, moon, Orion nebulae, you know the popular sites. Ive also favoured getting into astrophotography as I am a photographer. I did have the Meade etx 127, but sold it reluctantly. Looking for something else now. The price of £600 is flexable. Please help.
gashead

Re: new scope

Postby Aratus » Tue Jan 26, 2016 9:14 pm

Hello

I think there are plenty of telescopes to choose from.

Are you looking for something with an aperture greater than your previous 5" ?
Will you be wanting a computerised mount?
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus

Postby gashead » Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:36 am

Hi, I was thinking around that aperture? Computerised? probably but not definite. The Meade I had was 10 years ago, so I wondered how good Meade are now? Celestron has taken my eye. I hear skywatcher are good?. Also should I go for a refractor or????????? Many thanks for the help.
gashead

Postby Aratus » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:35 pm

From what I gather Meade, Celestron and Skywatcher are all good makes. If I was getting a new telescope now I wouldn't pumb for just one manufacturer. I would look at what they all had to offer and price. Call me a cynic, but if someone generally suggests one of these brands over the others, I wonder if either they work for them, or they are trying to justify their own choice. :D