New telescope options?

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

New telescope options?

Postby dmtarry » Thu Sep 29, 2016 5:53 pm

Hi I am new to this and have been looking to buy a telescope for initially viewing the Moon, Planets along with some photography. However I want the scope to be good enough to move on a little further into the hobby when i know more about what i am doing. I live in a lodge by the beach in Anglesey 90% of the time with wonderful skies and seemingly little light pollution. I want to be able to move around to different locations on the island so portability is a useful option, I have researched options and with my budget of around £1,000 narrowed things down to the Celestron range as follows :-

The Celestron NexStar 6SE (with power pack) *First option?

The Celestron NexStar 8SE (Reading forums some questions about extended cool down times over the 6 and "Wobble" ? also the head unit is heavier though fitted to the same tripod and mount and may be being overworked if cameras attached etc?? (with power pack)

or The Celestron Evolution 6 SCT Some seem to think that the gearing and mechanics are better in this unit obviously easier with inbuilt power pack and wifi for connection to a tablet.

My gut is pushing me towards the evolution though would be interested in your thoughts?
dmtarry

Re: New telescope options?

Postby Aratus » Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:23 pm

The Celestron Evolution type telescopes are obviously the most modern telescopes and do contain improvements over the older types based on their experience. For myself it also contains a lot of unneccesary items which add greatly to the cost without increasing its ability, but others may find them useful. For me anyway spending money on GPS, wifi connections and tablet control seems more like gimmicks than anything that might improve the experience. That is something you need to judge for yourself.