New Telescope

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

New Telescope

Postby Jack101 » Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:52 pm

I am a beginner and for the last week or two I have been reading to try to decide which telescope to consider.

I am 74 years old and therefore not in first flush of youth. I am tending towards the Schmidt Cassegrain type of telescope from Celestron and the CPC 800 looks good but a bit expensive. I want the scope for Astrophotography, initially for sun, moon and planets, but hope to expand later. I will be using a Nikon DSLR D3200.

The GoTo facility on this scope looks impressive, but is it really necessary? I believe I should be trying to understand my way around the cosmos as much as I can rather than relying on a computer. In the process I should learn faster.

I will certainly need a substantial tripod and mount and a means of tracking accurately.

My questions are:

Will the CPC800 be too heavy for my advancing years?

Can I get something close to its performance without the need for GoTo?

Am I right about GoTo?

What mount would you suggest?

Can you get lists of areas with co-ordinates to allow a manual movement of the scope?

Are my questions daft?

I will appreciate all replies.

Thank you

Jack 101
Jack101

Re: New Telescope

Postby dave.b » Thu Oct 01, 2015 11:12 pm

My questions are:

1. Will the CPC800 be too heavy for my advancing years?

2. Can I get something close to its performance without the need for GoTo?

3. Am I right about GoTo?

4. What mount would you suggest?

5. Can you get lists of areas with co-ordinates to allow a manual movement of the scope?

6. Are my questions daft?

My answers are as follows:
1. Yes, unless you are strong and plan on remaining so. The issue is that that the CPC telescope's optical tube and its alt-az forks are a single assembly.