New to Astronomy with Heritage 130p

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

New to Astronomy with Heritage 130p

Postby balakm279 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 11:14 am

Hi.. I am new to Astronomy although been very interested for a very long time.. Got my first telescope a SkyWatcher 130p Hertiage last week and have had very little success with just 2 clear sky nights.. I used the Night Sky 2 app on my phone to find the position of mars last night which I could also see as a speck of orange glow in the sky with naked eyes.. I tried the 25" eye piece as well as the 10" eye piece which came with the telescop and all I got was a enhanced orangish spec on my eye piece. No matter how much I tried to focus could not get more than that.. I tried to take a pic of what I saw on my phone.. is this what I can expect to see with the default kit? would buying a 2x barlow improve? I am waiting for the moon to make an appearance so that I can observe something in close!

P.S : Unable to add a picture on my first post!
balakm279

Re: New to Astronomy with Heritage 130p

Postby Aratus » Mon Oct 03, 2016 2:28 pm

Hello! I'm sorry, but the system doesn't let you do certain things until you've a dozen or so posts under your belt!

Mars is one of the worst planets to observe in that it is quite small. It only gets large enough to be interesting for a few weeks every 2 years. At the moment it has gone past its best, and it is very low down anyway. The 2 eyepieces you have won't give the maximum usable magnification with your telescope. Generally speaking a barlow will help for planetary viewing, but with Mars at the moment you are only likely to get a larger 'orange speck'! It is unfortunate that there are no bright planets prominent in the sky at the moment. Saturn is low down in the west just as it gets dark.