Orion skyscanner

A place to hang out and chat about astronomy

Orion skyscanner

Postby Jamfen » Sun Jan 14, 2018 3:48 pm

Hi
I am new to this and looking for advice .
I have an Orion skyscanner 100mm , f4 , I would like to take pictures of the moon and other planets ... It came with 10 and 20 mm eyepiece .. they are not the best ..Any suggestions on which eyepiece go best with this scope , I'm also looking to buy barlows but have read conflicting reports on what ones are useful for my scope? Any info would be appreciated.
Cheers Jamie ;)
Jamfen

Re: Orion skyscanner

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 4:57 pm

Hi
You shouldn't have a problem taking photos of the moon with your phone, though lining up the camera with the eyepiece may be a fiddle.
It's likely that your camera will try and adjust the exposure as you're aiming and focusing, which means you've got a moving target in many ways (so to speak)
What makes life easier is that you can buy a cradle for your phone that clamps onto the eyepiece. This makes things easier as it stabilises what you're looking at, allows your camera time to get good focus and exposure.

Photographing planets is likely to be more problematic though, because to get them big enough to make out details on the image, you'll need high magnification, and this means a dimmer image. I took a photo of the recent Jupiter/Mars conjunction using a 102mm telescope (with 3x the effective magnification) and neither planet's image is particularly impressive.
post134732.html#p134732

It can be a good idea to upgrade your eyepieces; you can get Plossl eyepieces at a reasonable cost, and which one to do first will depend on whether you enjoy looking at wide star fields using the 20mm EP, or smaller objects with the 10mm one. Do which ever one you appreciate the view from more.