Using a magnifying shaving mirror as a primary mirror

Share practical advice and tips on making your own kit

Using a magnifying shaving mirror as a primary mirror

Postby queensmessenger » Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:56 pm

I am new to this telescope making business and am wondering if anyone has built a telescope using an ordinary magnifying shaving mirror. My local pharmacist has a large stock of various sized mirrors from about 4" to 9" diameter.. I know that focal distance would have to be measured but is the optical quality or lack of it not worth pursuing this line of thought

Thanks
queensmessenger

RE: Using a magnifying shaving mirror as a primary mirror

Postby pmwright » Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:53 pm

Hello there,

You might find this of interest,

[url=http://members.csolutions.net/fisherka/astronote/astromath/htmatkit/Handout%20Herschelian%20telescope%20how%20to%20make.pdf]http://members.csolutions.net/fisherka/astronote/astromath/htmatkit/Handout%20Herschelian%20telescope%20how%20to%20make.pdf[/url]

I did a quick search of "telescope shaving mirror" and that was at the top of the list.

Peter

pmwright

Postby brianb » Sun Sep 20, 2009 1:50 am

[quote]is the optical quality or lack of it not worth pursuing this line of thought
[/quote]
My feeling is that shaving mirrors are likely to be too inacurate by a factor of about 1000.

brianb

Postby miwslb » Sun Sep 20, 2009 2:53 pm

Also, modern shaving mirrors can be made in a mould rather than polished from a flat piece of glass, which means that the surface is slightly bumpy.

The difference is that a shaving mirror can be bought for around 10 quid instead of 50, but it means that the surface is not actually spherical.

A shaving mirror polished from a flat piece of glass will generally be very close to spherical.