Hello from New Jersey!

Come and say hello to your fellow Sky at Night Magazine fan

Hello from New Jersey!

Postby Caitie » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:35 am

Hi all,
I am a retired astronomy teacher (high school and college levels, including operating the planetarium of the university I worked for) and a lifetime astronomy buff. I am hoping to see the total solar eclipse visible across much of the USA on August 21, something I have waited my entire life to see. I'm flying to friends in Rapid City, SD and we're driving south to Nebraska and putting ourselves in the town of Alliance, which is in the center of the moon's shadow. All we need now is for the usually sunny, hot weather of the Great Plains in summer to give us a clear view and we'll have 2.5 minutes of totality, a 'bucket list" experience that I've waited 60 years to see.
On a different issue, I just bought a new Celestron telescope, a big upgrade on my former telescope, and I've noticed confusion on how this brand is pronounced elsewhere in the forum. I called Celestron's service number to be certain, and I can tell you with confidence that (based on the word 'celestial'), Celestron is prounounced sell-LESS-tron, soft 'c' and accent on the second syllable. Also, Americans do NOT say "sellers-tron". We don't put an 'r' anywhere except in the final syllable, I promise you! ;)