A good starter scope ready for imaging ?

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

A good starter scope ready for imaging ?

Postby SAW » Fri May 26, 2017 6:37 pm

Hi,

I am very new to astronomy and I'm looking for a scope and mount that is good starter to general viewing but I can use for astrophotography later. I recently went to a local club and had a look through a few different scopes. I was going to get a 8 or 10" dob but, one they are quite big to store and transport and I would need to collimate it so I think I would be wasting my money. I have a budget of 2k that is absolute maximum and I'm not including a camera as I'll get one later on and probably a used one. I'd prefer to spend less to start with but not waste my money having to upgrade to early. I have been looking at some of the Celestron's C8 edge, Nexstar SE and Evolution. I do quite like the Schmidt-Cassegrain designs but are these good for general viewing and astrophotography ? Or am I better of going for a refractor ? As I said I want something that I can just start viewing things with probably more interested in DSO but would like to view planets.

Thanks.
SAW

Re: A good starter scope ready for imaging ?

Postby Aratus » Sat May 27, 2017 1:29 pm

Hello

Well, you probably already realise that the requirements you've outlined are rather broad! That probably indicates that you don't really have a precise idea of what you want, and everything looks interesting.