vernal equinox/Zodiac

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

vernal equinox/Zodiac

Postby dehaven » Tue Sep 05, 2017 1:32 am

This is NOT an astrology question. Nor do I believe in astrology.

I am so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am totally new at this. i am trying to solve a historical question using Sky Safari 5 Pro.

FROM Wikipedia:

Unlike modern astronomers, who place the beginning or the sign of Aries at the place of the Sun at the vernal equinox; Babylonian astronomers fixed the zodiac in relation to stars, placing the beginning of Aquarius at the "Rear Star of the Goat-Fish" (δ Capricorni).

Okay so the vernal equinox has passed or is passing or is about to pass from Pisces to Aquarius. And indeed, in order to move from δ Capricorni to the constellation Aquarius using Sky Safari, I must move BACKWARDS in time.

Why then would Wikipedia state that "Babylonian astronomers [place] the beginning of Aquarius at the "Rear Star of the Goat-Fish" (δ Capricorni)?" Do they simply mean the end of Aquarius?

And why do I have to set the date to December 21, 8000 BC to get the sun between Pisces and Aquarius?
dehaven

Re: vernal equinox/Zodiac

Postby Gfamily2 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:07 pm

dehaven wrote:This is NOT an astrology question. Nor do I believe in astrology.

I am so confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am totally new at this. i am trying to solve a historical question using Sky Safari 5 Pro.

FROM Wikipedia:

Unlike modern astronomers, who place the beginning or the sign of Aries at the place of the Sun at the vernal equinox; Babylonian astronomers fixed the zodiac in relation to stars, placing the beginning of Aquarius at the "Rear Star of the Goat-Fish" (δ Capricorni).