Advice on purchase of telescope

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Advice on purchase of telescope

Postby Aliavo » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:55 pm

Hi
Please could you help, I need some advice. My 8 year old daughter wants a telescope, my issue is that although I want to encourage her to get into astronomy I am reluctant to buy anything that is too expensive that may end up being stuck in a cupboard/garage after a couple of months. Yet at the same time I don't want something that isn't going to show her clear images and help her see what she wants to see (planets, stars etc). I have found the following telescope at Smyths Toys and although it looks good I'm conscious that it may not be quite good enough. I've looked up various advice on what a good starter telescope should have as a minimum but to be honest I'm just getting confused. I would be great full if someone could let me know what you think. I apologise for the long post but I'm really new to this and don't want to get it wrong. I have listed below what the website says about it:

Fusion Science 700m Refractor Telescope

Product Description: