Basic equipment for astrophotography

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Basic equipment for astrophotography

Postby alggomas » Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:32 pm

I am completely new to astronomy.
I have an opportunity to buy a new Celesteron 102 slt.
For £300. I do not want to spend a lot as it may be a temporary craving.
I have Eos film and Canon digital cameras.
I also have a Canon T ring.
Would the above 'scope be suitable and would a 2x Barlow be a good choice and do I need to buy another T ring for this?
I have also read I need another longer " bar" to balance the weight of my camera.
I am 65 years old so the above scope seems good for my abilities after reading favourable reviews.
Thank you for any advice.
alggomas

Re: Basic equipment for astrophotography

Postby Aratus » Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:50 pm

A Celestron 102 SLT has an alt-azimuth mount. Taking photos of planets, the moon and bright 'deep sky objects' will be possible. An dim object will require more exposure time which can produce problems. Alt-azimuths do rotate when following an object spoiling the image if using a very long exposure.

For prime focus images, you will require an adapter which attaches to your camera on one side and has a 1.25" 'nose' on the other to slot in the place of the eyepiece. It is possible to 'project' an image from the eyepiece but I've never done that.
Barlows are good for getting a more magnified image, but the image will be dimmer. They just slot in between telescope and camera/eyepiece
Counter weights can help the mechanism, but extra weight on the gears can bring about its own problem. Use the lightest camera you can. Consider using a 'web-cam' or a dedicated imager which are much lighter.

Have fun!
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus

Postby dave.b » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:06 pm