T Adapter Question

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

T Adapter Question

Postby Kristian87 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:18 pm

Hello,

I have a perhaps silly but very specific question...

A little context - I already have some experience with Astrophotography; I have a Canon EOS 700D along with the kit lens & have just purchased a Samyang 14mm f2.8. I also own a Celstron AstroMaster 114 as well as the Celstron travel scope 70. I also recently got a t-ring for my canon...

I'm ashamed to say that I don't really have any experience using telescopes (looking to change that!) so I'm a complete beginner to using a scope as a camera lens, but it's something I have wanted to try for a long time.

To my delight & surprise, the travel scope does already have a t adapter that fits my canon t ring. So I'm assuming that this will enable me to use either scope now as a prime lens? Long story short - after some research today I nearly pulled the trigger on purchasing a t adapter from Amazon for £25, before checking my travelscope which already had one - but it's not quite the same. So my question is - will the t adapter I have allow me to use the scope properly as a lens?

Thanks in advance :)
Kristian87

Re: T Adapter Question

Postby EIZO » Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:45 pm

£25

A T2 mount is no more than £7
Celestron Edge 8" Evolution, Esprit 120mm triplet, Sky Tee2, WO Binoviewers, 2" and 1.25" eyepieces, ZWO ASI 178MM camera, Neximage 5, Nikon D4s, D810, Nikkor 70-200 F2.8, Nikkor 14-24, Nikkor 70-200, Nikkor 24-120, Sigma 150-600 Sport
EIZO

Postby Gfamily2 » Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:38 pm

Hi and welcome.

Is the t-adapter you were thinking of buying this one with the built in Barlow?