Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope HELP!

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope HELP!

Postby Lesroy78 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:56 am

Hi to all,
I am new to the world of telescopes. I have just purchased the Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope (actually my daughters Christmas present, but sure she will share!). Had a couple of hours playing time so far. Currently just trying to observe the moon and getting used to the scope. The images I am getting at the moment seem very fuzzy (even compared to the naked eye). 10mm and 25mm lens the same. I have currently only been able to use in an urban setting (back garden). I am looking for any tips/help/links please.
My daughter is 5 and is keen on the solar system and planets and do not want my lack of knowledge on using the telescope to put her off.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Lesroy78

Re: Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope HELP!

Postby Gfamily2 » Sat Jan 06, 2018 10:20 am

Lesroy78 wrote:Hi to all,
I am new to the world of telescopes. I have just purchased the Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope (actually my daughters Christmas present, but sure she will share!). Had a couple of hours playing time so far. Currently just trying to observe the moon and getting used to the scope. The images I am getting at the moment seem very fuzzy (even compared to the naked eye). 10mm and 25mm lens the same. I have currently only been able to use in an urban setting (back garden). I am looking for any tips/help/links please.
My daughter is 5 and is keen on the solar system and planets and do not want my lack of knowledge on using the telescope to put her off.

I'm surprised by this, as the type of scope (known as a Maksutov) is normally very good at keeping in proper alignment.