Questions from a BK1309 EQ2 newbie

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Questions from a BK1309 EQ2 newbie

Postby sarumboy » Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:25 pm

Hello Forum Folk!
Just signed up as I'm a total newbie to astronomy. It took a 76 years birthday present of a BK1309 EQ2 to get me started and already I'm loving it! I spent my working life in engineering so its not too daunting but help with two questions would be appreciated.
In setting up the RDF, I located a distant spire in the 'scope eyepiece with 25mm lens. But there isn't enough lateral movement on the RDF adjusting screw to locate the dot on the spire, its slightly off to one side on max travel and there's no play in the 'shoe' that would help. There doesn't seem to be any course adjustment. Has this come up before?
The other thing, the RIA adjustment knob is very, very stiff so there's no way the clock motor would turn it. Can I do something about that? Thank you for any help.
Regards, sarumboy.
sarumboy

Re: Questions from a BK1309 EQ2 newbie

Postby EIZO » Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:51 pm

attach some images

What is a BK whatever, you need to be more specific when asking questions
Celestron Edge 8" Evolution, Esprit 120mm triplet, Sky Tee2, WO Binoviewers, 2" and 1.25" eyepieces, ZWO ASI 178MM camera, Neximage 5, Nikon D4s, D810, Nikkor 70-200 F2.8, Nikkor 14-24, Nikkor 70-200, Nikkor 24-120, Sigma 150-600 Sport
EIZO

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:52 pm

sarumboy wrote:Hello Forum Folk!
Just signed up as I'm a total newbie to astronomy. It took a 76 years birthday present of a BK1309 EQ2 to get me started and already I'm loving it! I spent my working life in engineering so its not too daunting but help with two questions would be appreciated.