Go to without wifi?

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Go to without wifi?

Postby Newbie Jimmy » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:23 pm

Hi,
Total beginner here so please excuse the totally silly question

Basically I'm looking to buy a go to telescope, to begin with to use in my garden but eventually to take further afield.

In my garden i have a strong WiFi signal, so the go to functionality will be great to get me started on what to look for in the night sky

However, because i have a lot of lights outside my house I'd like to eventually take this further afield.
Obviously my WiFi wont work away from my house, and I'm a bit loathe to use any data on my phone, so my silly question is can you use a go to telescope in the same manner you would use a normal refractor/reflector telescope? IE without the motor and WiFi etc and using manual focus?
Jimmy
Last edited by Newbie Jimmy on Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Newbie Jimmy

Re: Go to without wifi?

Postby Aratus » Wed Jun 06, 2018 5:35 pm

There are plenty of telescopes that don't use 'wifi' and they are cheaper too. A non-wifi 'goto' telescope is still computerised and motorised. It will include a handset which will enable you to align the telescope - even in the middle of a field - and you can position the telescope to any object above the horizon using the same handset. Please don't worry about having a wifi signal to use a motorised telescope. Newer telescopes have re-chargable batteries, but they can easily run off manageable external 12v batteries too.

Generally speaking - I am left struggling to understand why anyone wants to operate a telescope using a wifi - unless perhaps they are trying to operate it from a distance. For most people it has no advantage, and is yet one more thing to that you need to get working, and one more thing that can fail.