Beginner needs a new finderscope

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Beginner needs a new finderscope

Postby byrnen30 » Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:13 am

Hello,

I'm very new to starwatching, and in trying to align my finderscope I've already wrecked it! I found it really difficult to adjust the screws to align it, and I ended up ruining the thread of one of the screws from screwing it too tightly. I need to get a replacement - does anyone have any advice for a beginner?

I've read a few comments online that right angled finderscopes are difficult to use - does anyone have any comments on this? Should I try a telrad, or would it be difficult for a beginner? I found the finderscope that came with my scope really difficult to align (hence the wrecking) - any suggestions for something easier to use?

For info, i'm using a celestron 127eq reflector telescope. Any suggestions would be really appreciated.
byrnen30

Re: Beginner needs a new finderscope

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:26 pm

Hi and welcome.
Have you stripped the thread of the adjustment bolt, or of the mount itself? If the bolt, you can get a replacement bolt from places like Wilkinson's.
If it's the thread on the mount that's stripped, you could use a tap and die cutter set to re-cut the next size up thread, and get a bolt to match.
Alternatively, you could try aralditing a nut over the hole, and using thats thread to hold the screw in place.

Though if you're finding aligning difficult, it could be that the rubber ring is in the wrong place.

I have a right angle finder which is fine, though you can't simply use it to 'sight along' to get close to a reference star. What I've done is to put two cable ties around it with the 'blocks' lined up, and I can use those as 'lining up' markers for the initial position.

People's preferences vary, for everyone who loves a telrad there's another who can't get on with them, ditto for
Straight through finders
Right angle finders
RACI finders