Skywatcher skyhawk synscan telescope 1145p

A place for general chat about Sky at Night Magazine

Skywatcher skyhawk synscan telescope 1145p

Postby Kimy160788 » Fri Mar 25, 2016 9:20 pm

Hello me again just wondering if anyone can help me. I really don't know how to use the remote when I try and put my location in there isn't enough space to put all numbers I'm it asks for 4 or 5 numbers for first which is w and then asks for 3 or 4 numbers for the second one which is north. Now where I am ill post a picture mine has a lot more then the remote asks for.
I've tried to only put in the first few numbers but it doesn't find what I'm looking for. Now I no Jupiter is out at the minute in UK time 8.17pm date 25/3/2016
But it juat doesn't find it please can anyone help me
Attachments
2016-03-25 20.19.03.png
These are my numbers they have alt more then the remote has I just don't know what to do
2016-03-25 20.19.03.png (60.75 KiB) Viewed 2066 times
Kimy160788
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 7:17 pm

Re: Skywatcher skyhawk synscan telescope 1145p

Postby Gfamily2 » Sat Mar 26, 2016 1:47 am

Kimy160788 wrote:Hello me again just wondering if anyone can help me. I really don't know how to use the remote when I try and put my location in there isn't enough space to put all numbers I'm it asks for 4 or 5 numbers for first which is w and then asks for 3 or 4 numbers for the second one which is north. Now where I am ill post a picture mine has a lot more then the remote asks for.
I've tried to only put in the first few numbers but it doesn't find what I'm looking for. Now I no Jupiter is out at the minute in UK time 8.17pm date 25/3/2016
But it juat doesn't find it please can anyone help me


If your are getting your location as 51° 25' 34" N, 3° 12' 22" W (for example), you may find that your handset is expecting you to input them as decimal values - 51.426N and 3.206W.

Do you do a 1 or 2 star align after adding your location and the time? You will need to do this so that the telescope knows which way is North etc.

Do you have a local astronomy society? It'll be worth trying to take your telescope to a meeting and hopefully someone can show you how to set it up so that the GOTO will work correctly.

Stick with it.
Scopes: Meade 8" SCT, Skywatcher 127mm Mak, Raffle winner of SW ST80
For imaging: Pentax K5, Asda webcam, Star Adventurer (new toy)
For companionship: Mid Cheshire Astronomical Group.
(Not a moderator)
Gfamily2
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2015 10:38 pm

Re: Skywatcher skyhawk synscan telescope 1145p

Postby Aratus » Sat Mar 26, 2016 4:02 pm

It is very confusing, and gfamily2 is correct that there are 2 main ways of expressing coordinates. I don't think that is the problem here though. It is more of knowing which numbers to use, and how to put them in.

I had a look at the Skywatcher web site, and if the mount on this telescope is the AZ synscan mount. Like this. . . Image then I think I can help you.

According to the manual, the longitude is put in first. It requires you to use the 'scroll keys' to select 'E' or 'W'. Then it needs the degrees in a 3 digit format. for instance '003', followed by the 'minutes of arc' as a 2 digit figure, like '22'. You then put in the degrees of latitude selecting 'N' or 'S'. Then the coordinates as a 2 digit format, like '51' followed by the minutes of arc, like '25'. You don't need to put in any further figures.

To use the example gfamily2 gave, you might have 51° 25' 34" N, 3° 12' 22" W
You would put that in as W 003 12 and N 51 25 - ignore the other numbers.
Obviously you use your own coordinates.

See if that works.
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus
 
Posts: 843
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 2:17 pm
Location: East Lincolnshire


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests