sorry same old question on a telescope for a new beginner!

sorry same old question on a telescope for a new beginner!

Postby browneyedgirl » Fri Jan 18, 2013 5:49 pm

Hello

sorry for this same boring message! I am a beginner and wanting to buy a telescope but I haven't a clue what one to get. I would like to be able to see Saturn and its rings clearly, the same for Jupiter the Moon etc.

I just dont know what to look for in a telescope. I have looked on the internet but it means nothing to me as some mention more on lens' and some mention more on reflectors. I really do not know where to start.

I think I would be disappointed spending money on a telescope and not being able to see much e.g. not being able to see the rings around Saturn properly but saying that I have NEVER looked through a telescope so maybe a small cheap one might be ok. Just I have watched "the sky at night" sometimes and when they mention telescopes for beginners some of the images (to me anyway) look a bit disappointing in that the image seems to be white blob - I just know I would be disappointed.

So could I please have your personal view as to what size telescope to get etc. Again apologies for the same old message!

Thank you for your time.
Marie
browneyedgirl

Re: sorry same old question on a telescope for a new beginne

Postby parus ater » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:37 pm

Forums would be very nasty places if they didn't like people asking newbie questions.
First off I know nothing about astronomy refractors so bare that in mind.
Planets, basically about focal length though aperture is also a necessary thing to have. Aprture is how much light gets in and focal length is basically how magnified the image will be with any specific eyepiece. The Rings of Saturn and the Cassini Division, Detail and the GRS on Jupiter - If that's what you want to be looking at amongst other things then I can tell you from personal experience that a 6"/150mm Newtonian Reflector will show you those.