Stuck between two Binoculars for Stargazing

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Stuck between two Binoculars for Stargazing

Postby wiegetz » Mon May 07, 2018 2:56 pm

Hello everyone,

I am stuck between two binoculars for stargazing.

These models:

Olympus 118760 10 x 50 DPS-I
Celestron SkyMaster 15x70
I am not sure which I should buy. The prices are not that much different, the 10x50 costs 60€ and the 15x70 costs 80€. It goes to a -10€ sale on amazon.de, so I will wait until that happens (I am a Student, so haha) I also want to buy a tripod for ~25€ on Amazon for it.

Please do not post other models, since these two are the only good ones available here in Germany, and I cannot increase my budget every further.

I intend to visit the Eifel national park for stargazing because it is the best place here to do stargazing (possibly the only one as well) and because it also got the dark-sky award.

Best regards,
wiegetz

Re: Stuck between two Binoculars for Stargazing

Postby Gfamily2 » Mon May 07, 2018 4:42 pm

Hi and welcome.

I can't give you much advice about which would be better. I have had the Celestrons and they're good, but heavy to use for extended use. A tripod can help, but only for targets that are not too far above the horizon.
If you're looking at targets near the zenith, you would do better to get a reclining seat (or a sun-lounger) that allows you to lean back and take the weight of the binoculars on your face.

As you're probably aware, the Olympus 10x50s will give you a wider field of view, whereas the Celestrons give you a higher magnification. I'm not exactly sure of the maths, but I think the brightness for extended objects should be more or less the same in both. As I understand it, you'll see more stars with the Celestrons because of the larger aperture, but for planets, the moon and any nebulae, the brightness is about the same.