Telescope advice

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

Telescope advice

Postby rhys_k » Sat Jun 27, 2009 12:10 am

I'm looking to buy a telescope and can't decide between 2 telescopes, the telescopes are the Skywatcher Explorer 150PL on the EQ3-2 mount(£300) and the Skywatcher Explorer 200 on an EQ5 mount(£420). I would just like to know if the visual difference between the 2 scopes is worth the extra money, also would it be better to buy the 200 with the EQ5 mount now rather than buy a new mount later?. Portability/Weight is not a problem for me.
Thanks.
rhys_k

RE: Telescope advice

Postby philipc » Sat Jun 27, 2009 8:46 am

[quote]I would just like to know if the visual difference between the 2 scopes is worth the extra money[/quote]

I'm no real expert, but this question is pretty straightforward, since both scopes are well-regarded and easilly compared.

The 200mm gathers over [u][i]fifty percent more light[/i][/u] than the 150mm as follows:

(150mm*150mm) / (200mm*200mm) * 100 = 56.25% more light-gathering ability.

So if portability/weight is *genuinely* not an issue, then the 200mm is the clear choice, and the standard rule is "always go with the sturdiest mount you can afford."

Also, don't forget that you'll want to buy additional eyepieces in future if you haven't already got some - and eyepieces are very expensive.
philipc

Postby ronin » Sat Jun 27, 2009 6:13 pm

The gathering is as said the ratio of the squares of the 2 mirror radai or diameters. But it is (200/150)**2 so is 1.77 times as much light gathered by the 200 as by the 150, not 1.56. Even better.
ronin

Postby philipc » Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:13 pm

[quote]The gathering is as said the ratio of the squares[/quote]
Yes - I got it the wrong way around (apologies)
My maths shows how much [i]less [/i] light gathering the 150mm has relative to the 200

Ronin's is the correct formula to use.
philipc

Postby ronin » Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:20 am