Using Celectron Telescope

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

Using Celectron Telescope

Postby RajM28 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:42 pm

Hi,

Recently I have been presented with a "Celestron Astromaster 130 EQ Telescope. I also received one 10 mm and another 20 mm eye piece. Although I can see the stars through both lenses, I cannot see the big moon visible in the sky? What am I doing wrong? Is there are any set up or lenses needed to view the moon? I am a beginner and am frustrated as I could not see the moon through my telescope but can see with the naked eye!!

I am considering joining the local astronomy society but in the mean time any help is appreciated.
Thanks
RajM28

Re: Using Celectron Telescope

Postby Gfamily2 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 9:40 pm

RajM28 wrote:Hi,

Recently I have been presented with a "Celestron Astromaster 130 EQ Telescope. I also received one 10 mm and another 20 mm eye piece. Although I can see the stars through both lenses, I cannot see the big moon visible in the sky? What am I doing wrong? Is there are any set up or lenses needed to view the moon? I am a beginner and am frustrated as I could not see the moon through my telescope but can see with the naked eye!!

I am considering joining the local astronomy society but in the mean time any help is appreciated.
Thanks

There shouldn't be any reason why stars can be seen, but not the moon, it should be simply a matter of pointing it in the right direction. :)