what lense to use

Got a beginners' question? No matter how elementary, our friendly forum community and magazine writers will answer it.

what lense to use

Postby Premacy10 » Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:50 pm

Hi all

I am still new to astronomy and wondered what lense sizes you would use to look at the moon, planets etc. I have tried messing around but some lenses appear never to go into focus as if they are too powerful. I also use a 3x and 2x barlow.

Any help gratefully received.

Regards tony
Premacy10

Re: what lense to use

Postby Aratus » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:00 pm

You need to work out the magnification of each eyepiece with your telescope and the effect of using the barlows.
Take the focal length of your telescope which happens to be 900mm, and divide it by the quoted focal length of the eyepiece. So with your 10mm eyepiece the magification is 900/10 or x90. If you use a barlow with it as well then multiply by the barlow strength. So with a 2x barlow 90x2 = x180.
I'll leave you to work out all the figures for all your eyepieces and barlows!
For my telescope I've typed them all out and I have it handy when observing.

Now your telescope is a 5". For general use you shouldn't use more that 40x or 50x the number of inches. So you stand a good chance of getting a bright image if you keep below those figures. So 40x5 = x200. Use an eyepiece/barlow combination which is below that figure unless the conditions are really good. So to use the example at the top, your 10mm eyepiece with a 2x barlow will give you 180x magnification which should be fine. If you use the 3x barlow you will get x270 which might be too high for average conditions.
I use an 11" Celestron SCT (CPC 1100) on an equatorial wedge, housed in a 2.2m Pulsar observatory. I use a ZWO ASI1600MC and Canon 500D for imaging.
Aratus

Postby Supercooper » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:59 pm

HI,