What would you do...?

Ask your fellow astronomers to solve your telescope queries

What would you do...?

Postby jmbillings » Sun Jun 28, 2009 8:03 pm

Hello...

Throwing a rather open question out here to see what sort of responses I get... :)

At the moment I have a TAL 2M. I don't use it as much as I should as for imaging I find I can never align it well enough for long exposures, and visually the 6" is good but i'd like more. The question is what to do, as I don't have tons of money to spend. Ideally i'd like goto as well...

So far I've thought of:

1 - Build my own scope - I don't think i'd make the mirrors, but everything else I could probably do; but then it needs the control. Meade's 492 motor kit + 497 controller looks interesting but I don't think you can get the motor kit any more :( Plus this might push the cost up to that of a proper scope anyway? Doing the motor drive/goto stuff myself is interesting - i'm a software dev by trade so I may be able to do it, but it's a gamble, and is probably a lot more complex than you'd think!

2 - Buy and mod. I liked the look of the Skywatcher auto dob's - they do tracking, but no Goto. I wonder if the controller could be linked up to a pc for making it goto-ish...?

3 - Buy 2nd hand. The least fun option but probably easiest!

So, not sure which path to take really. I love the idea of making my own scope - and as an example, £300 ish for 8" mirror set from Orion Optics compared to double that for the full scope from Skywatcher is interesting; but need to account for all the other stuff such as motor drive etc.

Also - 8" or 10"? A friend has a 10" Dob and a 6"SC, and says the difference is very noticeable, but not sure how much better an 8" would be over the 6" of my Tal - I'd go for coated optics if doing the DIY route, but would I end up disappointed?
jmbillings

RE: What would you do...?

Postby philipc » Mon Jun 29, 2009 3:00 am